You May Also Like

How Top Chef’s Gail Simmons stays healthy, no matter what’s served up at work

Why drinking vinegars are set to be fall’s buzziest wellness beverage

The 5 coolest new healthy food and drinks coming to your supermarket

5 reasons calorie counting won’t help you lose weight or get healthy

The detoxifying charcoal cocktail you need to try

The 10 most popular vegan cookbooks on Amazon right now

Your gluten-free Cheerios probably have wheat in them


gluten-free honey nut cheerios

Many gluten-intolerant Americans may be staring into empty breakfast bowls this morning, thanks to a massive recall by industry-dominating brand, General Mills.

Earlier this week, the cereal brand announced that over 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free Honey Nut and Original Cheerios actually contain wheat. “The company said in a press release Monday that issues offloading flour at its facility in Lodi, California may have caused the contamination,” reports CNN Money, noting that the recall affects four days worth of the factory’s production.

Cheerios recall

This news is a pretty big deal, since General Mills began a major transition to wheat-free products as a way to cater to the growing number of people choosing to forgo gluten (and to ultimately boost sales).

But don’t freak out if this news has you rethinking the way you do breakfast, because we have tons of other much healthier ways to fill your bowl. —Sarah Sarway

To find out if your box of Cheerios has been affected, head to www.cheerios.com

More Reading
The godmother of the gluten-free revolution
7 surprising things you didn’t know have gluten in them
35 healthy breakfast ideas that aren’t smoothies 

(Photo: @cheerios via Instagram, Twitter)