Each of the 7 Chakras Is Associated With a Color—Here’s What Each One Means

Photo: Stocksy / Jovo Jovanovic
While you may already know what chakras are—the energy centers of the body derived from ancient Indian scriptures called the Vedas—understanding the associated chakra colors and their meanings can help you visualize and balance them more effectively. To recap, the energetic chakras function like wheels (in fact, chakra is the Sanskrit word for "wheel"), and they're in constant motion, says herbalist, acupuncturist, and Ayurvedic expert Juhi Singh, MA, LAc, founder and chief practitioner of The Juhi Ash Center, in New York City. "Each one is linked with a color that is akin to the vibration or frequency of the chakra," she says.

Experts In This Article

In general, it's the speed and rate at which all of your chakras spin that has an effect on your overall sense of balance. “The circulation of energy in each of our chakras then influences our physical and mental well-being by way of stimulation or inhibition,” says Reiki practitioner and nutritionist Serena Poon, CN. In other words, if one of your seven chakras is spinning out of sync or is otherwise off-balance, the effects could ripple into other areas of your life, as well.

“The circulation of energy in each of our chakras then influences our physical and mental well-being by way of stimulation or inhibition.” —Reiki practitioner Serena Poon

Essentially, tapping into the colors associated with each of the seven chakras—which run vertically from the base of the spine to the crown of the head—can help you connect with and understand their unique vibrations. Below, the experts break down the different chakra colors and meanings, so you can reap the benefits of aligning your entire energetic rainbow.

Here are the 7 chakra colors and their respective meanings:

1. Root chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Red

Location: Base of your spine near your tailbone

Meaning: "This chakra represents your security and your power base," Poon says. "It determines your ability to feel calm, safe, and grounded. It’s also from where you’re able to pull in energy and manifest your desires."

Susy Markoe Schieffelin, sound healer and Reiki practitioner, points out that the grounding, safety-enhancing vibes of the root chakra connect to real-life examples of the color red representing security. Take, for instance, a stop sign or red light. "These are symbols put into place to help bring our attention toward safety," she says. "They tell us to slow down, to stop, and to be present."

Whenever you need an extra dose of grounding in your life, Schieffelin recommends focusing your attention on the root chakra and visualizing red light in that region as you take a few deep breaths and say the affirmation, “I am safe.”

2. Sacral chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Orange

Location: Two inches below your belly button

Meaning: "This chakra represents and governs your emotional state and sense of creativity," says Singh. And as such, it's the source of sensitivity, sexuality, intimacy, and self-expression, says Poon: "Often, the sacral chakra needs to be cleared of stuck energy from traumas and pent-up emotions in order to heighten your creativity and ability to express your truest self."

Given that it exudes a feeling of warmth and excitement, the color orange is fitting for the sacral chakra. Similar to the root chakra, if you want to summon more sacral-chakra energy, Schieffelin suggests envisioning orange light in that area of your body, and in this case, meditating on the affirmation, "I am creative."

3. Solar plexus chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Yellow

Location: Between naval and sternum

Meaning: The solar plexus chakra is indicative of personal power and will power, self-esteem, confidence, and intellect more generally, says Schieffelin. As for its associated color, yellow, its connection is more symbolic—think of seeing a bright light, as in coming to a great idea or solution.

"The color yellow represents the ability to tap into the light of a thousand suns that exists within you," Schieffelin says: "Focusing on the color yellow in the upper part of your abdomen can help you feel strong, confident, motivated, and powerful." Poon adds that you can also eat yellow-colored foods to help you tap into the energy of this chakra.

4. Heart chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Green

Location: Center of chest

Meaning: Although pink or red may be the first colors that come to mind when you think of the heart chakra, this energetic area is actually associated with green. But as you might imagine, the heart-centric themes remain: It's the source of love, integration, and compassion, says Singh. And not just in a romantic sense, either. "This chakra also represents the ability to give and receive compassion, expansion, empathy, service, kindness, health, and healing," Poon says. "In turn, we experience loss, regret, pain, low self-love, and low self-worth when this chakra is imbalanced."

To strengthen your heart chakra and open yourself up to giving and receiving love, Schieffelin recommends a meditation where you envision your heart and imagine an emerald green light glowing around it.

5. Throat chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Blue

Location: Base of the throat to the center of the eyes

Meaning: "This chakra is all about self-expression and clear communication," Schieffelin says. While a balanced throat chakra is linked with speaking and writing your truth, an imbalance can result in just the opposite. "People often hold back from true honesty for fear that they may face judgment or rejection," says Schieffelin, which can be evidence of a blocked throat chakra and could even manifest in frequent coughing or other physical symptoms.

If you're struggling to communicate effectively—or need an energetic boost to ask someone out on a date or send that email to your boss about a raise—consider placing a few throat-chakra stones (like blue-lace agate or aquamarine) over your throat while you meditate. You can also nosh on blueberries and visualize a blue light surrounding your throat area, says Poon.

6. Third-eye chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Indigo or purple

Location: Center of forehead between eyebrows

Meaning: In a general sense, the third-eye chakra is connected to subconscious knowledge and sensory perception, says Singh. "Purple is a very mystical and magical color that represents wisdom," Schieffelin says. "The third eye is all about connecting to your intuition and inner vision." When you learn how to open your third eye, you'll see the world in a whole new way.

To help unleash this higher intellect, consider wearing the color of the chakra, practicing Kundalini yoga,  seeking out sound healing (or conducting a sound bath at home), or adding frankincense essential oil to a diffuser or your next regular bath.

7. Crown chakra

chakra affirmations

Color: Violet or white

Location: Two inches above the top of the head

Meaning: Unlike the other chakras, the crown chakra isn’t actually on or within your body. It’s located just above your head and "radiates infinitely upward and outward, connecting you to your soul, higher self, purpose, the universe, source and the divine," Poon says. While it's energy may be either bright violet or white, it's always reflective of spirituality, enlightenment, and consciousness, says Singh. Visualize that intense color permeating into that space and beyond it during your next meditation to access its powers and help rejuvenate both the mind and soul.


The Wellness Intel You Need—Without the BS You Don't
Sign up today to have the latest (and greatest) well-being news and expert-approved tips delivered straight to your inbox.

Loading More Posts...