Your Breakdown of the 7 Unique Chakra Colors and Meanings

Photo: Getty Images/Helin Loik Tomson

Regardless of whether you fancy yourself a total spiritual phenom or you don’t feel like you have a single woo-woo-leaning cell in your body, you’ve likely at least heard about chakras. But, are you clear on the ins and outs of chakra colors and meanings? Just in case, here’s a little recap: Chakras are energy centers in the body that, as chef, nutritionist, and reiki master Serena Poon puts it, link our energetic and physical bodies with universal life-force energy.

“Each chakra vibrates or spins at a particular frequency that impacts specific biological processes and organ systems in our body,” she says. “The circulation of energy in each of our chakras then influences our physical as well as our mental well-being by way of stimulation or inhibition.” In other words, if one of your seven chakras is out of whack or blocked, you may feel effects of that in other areas of your life, as well.

“The circulation of energy in each of our chakras then influences our physical as well as our mental well-being by way of stimulation or inhibition.” —reiki master Serena Poon

There are seven total chakras that run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head, and each has a specific meaning and is associated with a specific color. The colors, you’ll notice, follow the same pattern as a rainbow. Below, several pros break down the different chakra colors and meanings, so you can understand and enjoy the whole energetic rainbow.

Learn about the 7 chakra colors and meanings below.

Graphic: Well+Good Creative

1. Root chakra

Color: Red

Location: Base of your spine near your tailbone

Meaning: “This chakra represents your security and your power base,” Poon says. “It determines your ability to feel calm, safe, grounded, and secure. It’s also where you’re able to pull in energy and money and manifest your desires.”

Susy Schieffelin, sound healer and reiki master points out that the grounding, safety-enhancing vibes of the root chakra connect to real-life examples of the color red representing security. Take, for instance, a stop sign or red light. “These are symbols put into place to help bring our attention toward safety,” she says. “They tell us to slow down, to stop, be present, and help us to remain safe.”

So whenever you need an extra dose of some grounding in your life, Schieffelin recommends focusing your attention on the root chakra and visualizing red light in that area as you take a few deep breaths and say the affirmation “I am safe.”

2. Sacral chakra

Color: Orange

Location: Two inches below your belly button

Meaning: “This chakra governs your emotions, your creativity, sensitivity, sexuality, intimacy, emotional well-being, and self-expression,” Poon says. “Often, the sacral chakra needs to be cleared of stuck energy from traumas and pent-up emotions to heighten your creativity and ability to express your true self.”

Given that it exudes a feeling of warmth and excitement, it makes perfect sense that the sacral chakra is connected to the color orange. Similar to the root chakra, if you want to call in more of the sacral chakra energy, Schieffelin suggests envisioning orange light in that area of your body while meditating on the affirmation “I am creative.”

3. Solar plexus chakra

Color: Yellow

Location: Between naval and sternum

Meaning: The solar plexus chakra is all about personal power, self-esteem, and confidence. “The color yellow represents the ability to tap into the light of a thousand suns that exists within you,” Schieffelin says. “Focusing on the color yellow in the upper part of your abdomen can help you to feel strong, confident, motivated, and powerful.” Poon adds that you can also eat yellow-colored foods to help you tap into the energy of this chakra.

4. Heart chakra

Color: Green

Location: Center of chest

Meaning: Although pink or red might logically be the first colors that come to mind when you think of the heart chakra, this energetic area is actually associated with green. “This chakra represents the ability to give and receive love, compassion, expansion, empathy, service to others, kindness, health, and healing,” Poon says. “We experience loss, regret, pain, low self-love, and low self-worth when this chakra is imbalanced.”

So how do you strengthen your heart chakra and open yourself up to love? Schieffelin recommends focusing on your heart and imagining an emerald green light around it. Or, drinking a heart chakra smoothie, which may also do the trick.

5. Throat chakra

Color: Blue

Location: Base of the throat to the center of the eyes

Meaning: “This chakra is all about self-expression and clear communication,” Schieffelin says. “People often hold back from speaking their truth for fear that they may face judgment or rejection.” And it doesn’t just have to be your verbal communication. Writing is also governed by the throat chakra as well.

If your throat chakra is feeling a little stagnant, or maybe you just want a little confidence boost to ask someone out on a date or send that email to your boss about a raise, grab a few throat-chakra stones, like blue-lace agate or aquamarine, and place them over your throat while you meditate. You can also nosh on blueberries and visualize a blue light surrounding your throat area.

Into blueberries? Try making this blueberry pie for gut-health and throat-chakra gains. 

6. Third-eye chakra

Color: Indigo/purple

Location: Center of forehead between eyebrows

Meaning: “Purple is a very mystical and magical color that represents wisdom,” Schieffelin says. “The third eye is all about connecting to your intuition, inner vision, and higher consciousness. Having a clear and open third-eye chakra can help you to see the world in a whole new way.” Some things you can do to unleash your inner psychic powers include wearing the color of the chakra, practicing Kundalini yoga, using sound healing, or sniffing some frankincense essential oil.

7. Crown chakra

Color: Purple/violet

Location: Two inches above the top of the head

Meaning: Unlike the other chakras, the crown chakra isn’t actually on your body. It’s located just above your head and “radiates infinitely upward and outward, connecting you to your soul, higher self, purpose, the universe, source and the divine,” Poon says. It’s all about purity, enlightenment, and higher states of consciousness, Schieffelin adds.

Chakra colors and meanings aside, you can unleash your inner psychic by learning how to open your third-eye chakra. Also, did you know there are chakras of the earth? Here’s what to know about the energetic hot spots worthy of a slot on your travel bucket list.