How to Balance Your Chakras in Accordance With Your Zodiac Sign

Photo:Getty Images/Hero Images
It's zero percent unusual to turn to spiritual-healing methods to replenish your energy when you're feeling down. Maybe whenever you need some guidance, you pull up your horoscope, or you might think to unblock your chakras and strike a stronger energy flow. What you may not have considered, though, is the power you can strike by calling upon chakra elements (pairing your zodiac sign's element with its corresponding chakra) to achieve balance.

As it turns out, it's very possible to marry star signs with chakras, and Jess Holzworth, a yoga and meditation practitioner at Miravel Arizona, finds this holistic approach to be a sound method in living well. "Ayurveda believes the body is made up of the five Earth elements, so just as the Earth feeds off the elements, so do we," she says. To break down her thought a bit further, of the seven chakras, five have nature-related elements (with the two exceptions being the third-eye chakra and the crown chakra).

"Root chakra is Earth, home to your safety, security and stability," says Holzworth. "Sacral chakra is water, home to your creativity, passion, emotions, sexuality, sensuality, and pleasure. Solar plexus chakra is fire, home to your power and vitality. And heart chakra is air, home to compassion, gratitude, love, joy, and serenity." While the throat chakra is space, which is a nature-related element, the focus on the first four is of special note because those mimic the four astrological elements, or triplicities: Earth signs (Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo), water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces,) fire signs (Leo, Aries, Sagittarius) and air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius). So using this intel, you can maximize your chakra energy in accordance with the respective astrological elements of each.

Below learn about chakra elements and how to balance them best, according to the corresponding astrological elements.

chakra affirmations
Graphic: Well+Good Creative

Earth signs and the root chakra

The red root chakra is located at the base of your spine, and it symbolically connects to feeling safe, secure, present, and at ease. If your life feels like it's generally spiraling out of control or you, yourself, don't feel connected to world outside, then get outside. Recalibrating is all about finding a way—be it simple, grand, or creative—to connect with the Earth.

"Get out into nature," Holzworth says. "Go to a park, sit under a tree, take a road trip, watch a sunset, go glamping, go to Morocco and ride a camel in the Sahara desert, meditate, practice yoga. All of these help us to ground ourselves and bring us into the present moment."

Affirmation: "I am grounded."

chakra affirmations

Water signs and the sacral chakra

Water signs are known for being creative and intuitive, but sometimes you may not feel like you're tapping into your usual psychic powers. When this drain occurs, a sensuous experience may rejuvenate and inspire you.

"Take a luxurious bath, add in an essential oil, or—even better—use an essential oil daily," Holzworth says. "Engage the senses, go look at art, go see a concert, cook a heavenly meal. Do something that nourishes the mind, body, and soul. When we feel nourished, our energy is more fluid and less rigid, so allow pleasure in."

Affirmation: "I love to nourish my mind, body, and spirit."

chakra affirmations

Fire signs and solar plexus chakra

Fire is all about being the person who lives boldly, so when something feels off, you may find yourself stuck in a rut. In this case, your solar plexus chakra may be blocked, so Holzworth urges you end the cycle by attempting something brave.

"Do something that scares you," she says. "Join a dating app and go on a date. Take that trip to India that has been calling to you. End that relationship that is draining you. Quit the job that does not align with your values, and pursue your passion. When we tap into our power, we feel empowered. This is the chakra of transformation.

Affirmation: "I am empowered."

chakra affirmations

Air signs and heart chakra

Air signs tend to feel off when they feel lacking in love, or unable to project it themselves. In order to feel lighter, open your heart and practice active kindness to yourself and others.

"Read a book on compassion, take action steps to heal yourself, tell someone you love them, love yourself, forgive someone, practice gratitude daily, [and] cultivate joy in your life," Holzworth says. "It all comes back to love, which is enduring and eternal!"

Affirmation: "I am loving awareness."

The Wellness Intel You Need—Without the BS You Don't
Sign up today to have the latest (and greatest) well-being news and expert-approved tips delivered straight to your inbox.

Loading More Posts...