What the Astrological House Associated With Your Zodiac Sign Means for You

Photo: Getty Images/Dennis Aglaster/EyeEm
Astrology goes way beyond just specifying a person's sun sign, which is typically what you'd read for a daily horoscope. There are a number of other important components of a natal chart, including moon and rising signs, and ways in which to understand various planets and placements. For example, each of the planets have their own astrological meaning, and there are also the 12 astrological houses, or the areas of life where things might play out. And, in fact, each of the 12 zodiac signs corresponds to one of the 12 houses in astrology.

The order of the zodiac determines the astrological house to which it’s related. For instance, the first sign of the zodiac, self-starting Aries, is connected to the first house; stability-loving Taurus to the second; twin sign Gemini to the third; and so on.

“When you start to make those correlations, it gives the signs more flavor and helps you understand the activities that go on in a given house.” —Celeste Brooks, astrologer

Understanding the connection between zodiac signs and houses is beneficial, says astrologer Celeste Brooks, namely because it illuminates the role that houses play in your birth chart. “When you start to make those correlations, it gives the signs more flavor and helps you understand the activities that go on in a given house,” says Brooks.

Experts In This Article

Read on for Brooks’s breakdown of how the zodiac signs and houses in astrology are related.

Each of the zodiac signs corresponds to one of the astrological houses—here's what that means

Aries: first house

Put simply, the first house in astrology is all about you, representing the self, vitality, identity, appearance, and self-worth, says Brooks. Because Mars, the planet of physical energy and drive, rules the first house, the zodiac sign that corresponds to it is Aries, which is also ruled by Mars.

Taurus: second house

The second house is all about personal resources, talents, and personal values, says Brooks. It deals with themes of security and stability, which is why it corresponds to Earth sign Taurus, which craves both of those things. Like Taurus, the second house is ruled by Venus, which is the planet of love, relationships, and finances.

Gemini: third house

“The third house naturally connects to Gemini,” says Brooks. “It's the house of communication, intellect, and mental processes.” The planet that rules both Gemini and the third house is Mercury, which is the planet of intellect, communication, and internal dialogue. “This is the ‘I think’ house,” Brooks adds—which makes sense, considering that Gemini values learning in all its forms.

Cancer: fourth house

Cancer, ruled by the moon, is often known as the homebody of the zodiac. The moon rules over one’s emotions, but also over the fourth house, which represents home, family, and foundations. “It also has to do with emotional security, your upbringing, and your ancestry,” says Brooks. The connection between Cancer and the home via the sixth house may be at the root of the common “homebody” moniker for this water sign.

Want to know more about how the moon might affect you? Check out this video on moon phases:

Leo: fifth house

When it comes to the fifth house, it’s all about pleasure, says Brooks. Because this house is ruled by the sun, which Brooks calls the source of all creativity, Leo, the regal lion, is directly linked to the fifth house. With the fifth house, you might experience pleasure in the form of self-expression, hobbies, going on vacation, having children, or simply having fun, Brooks adds.

Virgo: sixth house

Ruled by Mercury, the sixth house concerns matters about health and daily routines. “It’s also about service, duty, and responsibility, so it has to do with the quality of work you do,” says Brooks, which is exactly why it makes sense that this house is associated with detail-oriented Virgo.

Libra: seventh house

“The seventh house is ruled by Libra,” says Brooks. She adds that 7th house in astrology deals with all things partnerships. “Venus rules Libra and the seventh house of partnerships—which could be in love, business, our BFFs, or any one-on-one relationships,” Brooks adds.

Scorpio: eighth house

According to Brooks, the eighth house has to do with “deep psychological processes.” Considering that Scorpio is the sign of death, rebirth, and transformation, this connection also comes naturally.

Sagittarius: ninth house

This is the house of wisdom and education, long journeys, life philosophies, higher learning, and international travel, Brooks says: “It deals with where we go to experience something that's different than what we're comfortable with.” Freedom-oriented Sagittarius is known for their love of traveling, and it’s ruled by Jupiter—the planet of luck, wisdom, and travel—which also rules over the ninth house.

Capricorn: 10th house

“The 10th house is the house of career, social standing, status, and reputation,” says Brooks. And which sign would be a better fit to correspond to this house than goal-oriented Capricorn? Additionally, the 10th house is ruled by Saturn—the planet of structure—a ruling planet which it shares with the sea goat.

Aquarius: 11th house

The second to last house, also known as the house of community and good fortune, has to do with friends, groups, hopes, and dreams. Ruled by Saturn and Uranus (the planet of innovation), which also rule visionary Aquarius, Brooks says the 11th house is essentially the house of the future. That’s why it makes sense for it to be ruled by Aquarius, since “there’s a lot about Aquarius that’s always trying to improve things,” says Brooks.

Pisces: 12th house

“The 12th house is the house of secrets,” according to Brooks. “It’s a house of seclusion and has to do with mysticism.” Pisces is dubbed the psychic empath of the zodiac and it’s co-ruled by Jupiter and Neptune (the planet of inspiration), which both rule over the 12th house as well.


The Wellness Intel You Need—Without the BS You Don't
Sign up today to have the latest (and greatest) well-being news and expert-approved tips delivered straight to your inbox.

Loading More Posts...