Pure Food and Wine goes gluten-free


Sarma Melngailis is seeing a huge influx of gluten-free eaters at her raw-food mecca. So she decided it was time to make it easier for them to dine there.
Pure Food and Wine
(Photo: Nycgo.com)

 

New York’s favorite high-end raw, vegan hot spot is about to add another label to its cuisine: gluten-free.

Pure Food and Wine only has a few items on the menu that even contain gluten, but, the restaurant saw a huge influx of gluten-free eaters, says owner Sarma Melngailis. So, she decided it was time to make it easier for them to dine there.

Changes include opting for certified gluten-free oats and replacing the unpasteurized soy sauce Nama Shoyu with tamari. “Tamari isn’t raw, but since it’s such a small amount used in so many dishes, we felt the benefit of having the menu wide open for the gluten-free people outweighs the ‘raw-ness’,” says Melngailis.

The only red flag: The manna bread used for the lunch burger is still neither raw nor gluten-free, so it will be marked. But that may change, says Melngailis. “We’ll work on coming up with our own bread once we’re in our new production space.” —Lisa Elaine Held

Loading More Posts...