You May Also Like

5 tips for turning your passion into a side hustle—without burning out

Get ready to gain confidence—and take action—in all areas of your life with Meena Harris

Cannabis feminism: The new movement that has high hopes for the future

Why now is the perfect time to become an activist

The working girl’s guide to finding a mentor

The simple morning trick that puts this spiritual leader in an amazing mood

What’s your dosha? Find out your Ayurvedic constitution

Ayurvedic treatments like Shirodhara are often found on spa menus in the West. But is it right for your dosha? Find out what that means and which of the three doshas you are…

You may have heard Deepak Chopra mention the term “dosha” on a talk show or have seen the phrase on a spa menu.

But Ayurveda’s method of categorizing your emotional and physical constitution is worth knowing a bit more about, especially since it’s the basis of India’s 5,000-6,000 year-old system of holistic medicine.

Ayurvedic physicians and healers use your dosha to help identify, customize, and prescribe lifestyle changes and remedies that will balance your energies, prevent disease, and preserve health.

We created this super-simple cheat sheet, so that next time someone asks you about your dosha, you won’t assume they’re craving Indian crepes.

A simple dosha chart from


Ayurveda sorts everyone into one of three doshas, or constitutions. While all of us have elements of all three doshas, in most people, one dominates, influencing physical and emotional health, behavior, and more.

The three doshas are:

1. Vata (Wind)
People in which Vata dominates tend to be naturally thin and wispy physically, lively, chatty, and always on the move (AKA all over the place). The flip side to this dosha is a propensity to insomnia, anxiety, and the inability to focus.

2. Pitta (Fire)
Pitta types have a fire burning within. They’re intense, intelligent, and goal-oriented, with vibrant complexions and luscious locks. They’re great leaders and public speakers. However, too much Pitta leads to compulsive, obsessed behavior, irritability, and heartburn.

3. Kapha (Earth)
Kaphas have their feet firmly planted on the ground. They’re strong and muscular physically, and are emotionally stable, calm, and patient. Someone with a Kapha overload might be prone to holding grudges, sluggishness, and weight gain.

Ready to find out which energies are circulating within you? Take the Chopra Center’s dosha quiz here.

For more info on Ayurveda, visit The Chopra Center or The National Institute of Ayurvedic Medicine.