If you have a gluten allergy, Celiac’s Disease, or made a New Year’s resolution to go gluten-free, you might be surprised to learn that you can actually still reach for a nutrition bar during your 3:00 p.m. energy slump, without blowing your gluten-free commitment.
Luna, the company known for its delicious Blueberry Bliss, Lemon Zest, and Peppermint Stick bars, noticed that while the granola and nutrition bar aisle is typically frequented by the supermarket’s healthiest shoppers, the subset of gluten-free customers weren’t exactly finding a plethora of options suitable for their needs.
“We love listening to our fans’ feedback, and when we noticed some people couldn’t eat all of our bars, we were inspired to make sure that the gluten-free community could eat them, too,” said Sarah-Jane Bedwell, Registered Dietician and LUNA nutrition consultant. “All our products now use certified gluten-free oats, making our entire line gluten-free.”
In light of the news, we got Bedwell to dish on some other easy gluten-free swaps you can make:
1. Choose corn instead of flour tortillas. Your Taco Tuesday doesn’t even have to suffer by switching to gluten free. “Most regular tortillas are made with white flour, which isn’t a whole grain, explains Bedwell. Corn, on the other hand, is tolerated well by people with gluten sensitivities.
2. Try tamari instead of soy sauce. “People may not think about condiments when they are going gluten-free,” Bedwell says. Soy sauce is typically made with fermented wheat, whereas Tamari packs a similar flavor without it.
2. Grab popcorn or nuts instead of pretzels. “You can satisfy that salty, crunchy craving, and get a healthy dose of fiber,” says Bedwell.
3. Swap a granola bar for a Luna bar. All Luna bars are gluten-free now, but are still loaded with fiber and protein, so you won’t have to skimp on the nutrients.
For more information, visit www.lunabar.com
Loading More Posts...